Experiment One: The Answers

After a flurry of activity from my beloved readers (thanks Jake and Lotte) I remembered I was meant to be posting the motivations and thoughts behind Senescence. While their guesses were a bit different to the direction whence I’d approached it, I really appreciated their insight into how it could be interpreted!

Anyway, I just wanted to write something, anything, so set my mind to do so. My brief to myself centred around biological immortality i.e. not dying from old age (I’d been reading about jellyfish that are biologically immortal and the work of the SENS Research Foundation aiming to halt ‘senescence’ or biological aging) which I decided to combine with a minotaur (thanks to the man walking behind me as I left work who made a noise that brought that image into my head) hence the maze.

I thought then, ‘Wouldn’t you just kill yourself with boredom stuck in a maze for eternity?’ I probably would. So how do I prevent this character committing suicide? Thus it became a robot minotaur, because Asimov’s robotics laws prohibit suicide.

Stylistically, I think I was influenced by reading the work of the ‘Cybernetic Poet’ program created by Ray Kurzweil, which you should definitely look up because it is fascinating.

As for the binary –  of course a robot would count in binary, and the value is 89,993 days, which is just over 246 years, so they’ve been lonely for a while now… Poor robot minotaur.

5 thoughts on “Experiment One: The Answers

    • You’re missing out! Robots provide a fascinating new way to look at prejudice, morality, man playing god, intelligence…
      Granted, I didn’t really cover any of this, I just didn’t want my character committing suicide (can a robot even get bored?) but still, keep an open mind towards robots 🙂 thanks again for commenting!

      Like

Share your thoughts!

