The Mill

[Insert obligatory seasonal greeting and cheerful comment about new year, new start etc. Here’s a piece I wrote today]

Step up, step up
Spin the wheel
Find fantasy, avoid the real
Pick two names, or maybe three
if everyone was feeling free!
Don’t we all just love a story
with details funny, hot or gory.

Poring over bits that don’t quite fit
selectively editing to suit
our style, our views, our preference
Our bias. ‘The Truth’ emerges
looking little like its predecessor:
the truth, dull by comparison,
gazing forlornly from the past.

So what if it was amicable, mutual, justified, happy?
When did those details count for owt?
Rather a yarn than a yawn!

Step up, step up
Spin the wheel
and spare not a thought
for those trapped in the gears.

[No, but seriously, I look forward to hearing from old and new friends – let me know what you think and what I’ve missed!]

5 thoughts on “The Mill

  1. That’s great – though as I’m currently brain-dead I have no idea what it’s about.
    You want to know what you’ve missed? I can’t speak for other bloggers, but in my case you’ve just missed more of the same, except I seem to have temporarily forgotten how to be funny.
    Oh! I’ve written a book – I call it a memoir, but in reality it just tracks my children’s addictions over the past fifteen years – yes, that old chestnut. (Yawn)
    The blogosphere’s great, but it hasn’t been the same without you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane!! So nice to see you 🙂 I’ll leave an explanation for now, in case you want to come back to it or anyone else wants to stab at it!
      I’m definitely going to be catching up on your world, but for now congratulations on the memoir! I think your writing’s so important so I’m glad you’ve stuck with the subject, painful though it must be at times.

      Liked by 1 person

      • So you’re sticking around for a while? That’s great!
        BTW, my nephew never got around to letting me have one of his raps, dammit, but I’m going to post one of my son’s silly poems which he wrote in prison when he got put in isolation for brewing hooch (they found it a few days before he was due to be lst out on licence, stupid boy).

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hoping to be! New year, new start and all that… maybe not quite as much as I was last year (according to my personalised end of year report I managed 19 consecutive days of posting in May!) but hoping to keep a more regular presence and catch up with all my friends here 🙂
          Shame you never got your hands on that, but looking forward to the poem! At least it’s got a good back story…

          Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!

