Old Ghosts

I see them in streets and I hear them in stories
A catch in my throat as I talk of old glorious days
A life that’s behind us but far from forgotten
I’m sure we both see them, but I far more often
These old, old ghosts

Faces familiar as the back of my hand
Their heads filled with visions of all we had planned to do
They don’t give me much but the faint tinge of sorrow
I shoo them away but they’ll be back tomorrow
These old, old ghosts
Of you and me
These old, young ghosts
We used to be

Every day that I see them we’re further away
A parallel life that was left to decay and wither
Come hither, look closer, this one was you
I never saw all that you knew you could do

Now this old, old ghost
Is left to roam alone
I clank my lonely chains
I’m bound to our old home

You left me cold
Your fire taken flight
You left so fast
You took your light
From me
To see
There’s more
For you
But I
I died
That me you knew
Is gone, is past
Is whispers now
Is ancient, irrelevant
Is still me somehow

I’m the old, old ghost
Of us.

A washed out scene in tones of gray with a lonely young man walking down a quiet cobbled street

Share your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.